Navratri 2022 • The Nine Nights of Devi Durga

Navratri 2022 starts on September 26, Monday and will end with Vijaya Dashami celebration on October 04, Tuesday.

Navratri festival dates in 2022

Day & DateFestivalTithi
Monday, September 26GhatasthapanaPratipada
Tuesday, September 27Maa Brahmacharini PujaDwitiya
Wednesday, September 28Maa Chandraghanta PujaTritiya
Thursday, September 29Maa Kushmanda PujaChaturthi
Friday, September 30Maa Skandamata PujaPanchami
Saturday, October 1Maa Katyayini PujaShashti
Sunday, October 2Maa Kaalratri PujaSaptami
Monday, October 3Maa Maha Gauri PujaAshtami
Tuesday, October 4Maa Siddhidaatri Puja, Maha Navami, Vijay DasamiNavami / Dasami
navratri fastival

Navratri: Nine Avatars of Goddess Durga

For nine nights, people observe the festival with utmost devotion and prayers. Each day is dedicated to one avatar of Durga Maa. Based on this, devotees have to wear the right colours on each day.

Day 1: Shailaputri /Pratipada

On Pratipada, Goddess Shailaputri is worshipped. Shaila means mountain and putri means daughter. Since Goddess Parvati is the daughter of the Mountain God, she is given importance on this day.

Day 2: Brahmacharini/ Dwitya

On Dwitya, Goddess Brahmacharini is a form of Durga Devi and she is one who reduces anger. Hence, the second day is dedicated for this Goddess.

Day 3: Chandraghanta/ Tritya

On Tritiya, devotees worship Chandraghanta. It is believed that she has a third eye and fights against evil demons. During puja, jasmine flowers are offered to make her pleased. 

Day 4: Kushmanda/ Chaturthi

On Chaturthi, the day is dedicated for Goddess Kushmanda. Her name means cosmic eggand she is known to spread energy and warmth to everyone.

Day 5: Skandamata/ Panchami

On Panchami, Goddess Skandamata is one who rules over Budha (the Mercury planet). She is revered as it is believed that she is fierce and loving.

Day 6: Katyayini/ Shashti

On the sixh day called Shashti, Durga is said to have taken the form of Devi Katyayani so that she could kill the King of Demons. Women offer prayers to get a peaceful married and family life.

Day 7: Kalaratri/ Saptami

On Saptami, the day is specially dedicated to Goddess Kalaratri. She is said to be fierce and have also frightened the evil spirits all over the universe. She is the most destructive avatar of Kali Devi and rules over Lord Shani (Saturn Planet)

Day 8: Mahagauri/ Ashtami

On the eigth day, people worship Mahagauri. She wears only white clothes on this special day and rides a bull. On this day, Kanya Puja takes place- a special event dedicated for young virgin girls. This day is known as Mahashtami or even Maha Durgashtami. The day is celebrated with dance, fun and prayers.

Day 9: Siddhidaatri/ Navami

On Navami, Devi Siddhidaatri is given importance. She is powerful to fulfill all your wishes and hence the ninth day is dedicated to her.

Day 10: Vijayadashami (Dussehra)

After the 9 days of prayers, the tenth day is kept aside for Vijayadashmi. A day when new things can begin in life. It is also called Vidyarambham- an event where children are introduced into the world of education. Sindhoor Khela is a very important part of the rituals on Vijayadashmi.

Important Timings On Navratri

SunriseSeptember 26, 2022 6:20 AM
SunsetSeptember 26, 2022 6:15 PM
Pratipada Tithi StartsSeptember 26, 2022 3:24 AM
Pratipada Tithi EndsSeptember 27, 2022 3:08 AM
Abhijit Muhurat TimeSeptember 26, 11:54 AM – September 26, 12:42 PM
Ghatasthapana MuhurtaSeptember 26, 6:20 AM – September 26, 10:19 AM
date and time of puja

Navratri festival dates between 2022 to 2025

2022Monday, 26th of September
2023Sunday, 15th of October
2024Thursday, 3rd of October
2025Monday, 22nd of September
navratri fastival dates

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top