Delhi-Mumbai Expressway: All you need to know

Delhi-Mumbai Industrial Corridor, aka Delhi-Mumbai Expressway, will cut the travel time between the two cities to around 12 hours by 2024. However, a part of the project will soon be made operational as Prime Minister will inaugurate Phase 1 of the project on February 12, 2023. The stretch will connect the national capital to Jaipur in just two hours!

Update: The Union Transport Minister, Nitin Gadkari, has lately shared the progress of the ambitious Delhi-Mumbai Expressway. As per the reports, the first phase of the project, i.e. Gurgaon-Dausa Link will be inaugurated on February 12, 2023. The development will reduce the travel time between Gurgaon and Jaipur from four hours to around two hours. The stretch will start from Sohna in Gurgaon and allow travellers to get down at Dausa in Rajasthan to take the four lane 40 km expressway from Dausa to Jaipur. The total distance from Gurgaon to Jaipur will be around 280 km, and vehicles will be allowed to travel at a top speed of 120 kmph. Once inaugurated, the stretch will resolve the commuting hassles of the public and help reduce the traffic congestion on the Delhi-Jaipur Highway. Further, discussions regarding the advanced traffic management systems (ATMS) are also on the table.

Planned under the Bharatmala Pariyojana, Delhi-Mumbai Expressway is one of the most awaited projects in India, which will connect the two major metropolises- Delhi and Mumbai. With the speed limit set at 120 km per hour, the proposed alternative Greenfield   highway will halve the travel time between the two major cities from 24 hours. 

Delhi-Mumbai Expressway: Project details

Here are some important details related to Delhi-Mumbai Expressway:

Delhi-Mumbai Expressway Project DetailsInformation
Project Length1,350 km
CostRs 1 trillion
Start pointDND Flyway in Delhi
End pointJawaharlal Nehru Port in Raigarh District
Completion DatePhase 1 by February 2023. Full completion by June 2024

Delhi-Mumbai Expressway completion date

Estimated to be developed at Rs 1 trillion, the expressway will cross through four States – Haryana, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Gujarat before concluding in Mumbai, Maharashtra. The 1,250 km-long super expressway was expected to be completed by December 2020. However, due to delays in approvals due to the pandemic, the completion date of the project has been revised to June 2024. Phase I of the project will be inaugurated in February 2023. (informations

 As of date, 825 km of the expressway is under construction. NHAI has sanctioned work orders for 45 packages out of a total of 52, spanning around 1,350 km. A 30 km-long link road connecting Faridabad to the Jewar International Airport has also been sanctioned. Further, a steel bridge has also been built in Bharuch over the Narmada River as a part of the expressway.

Delhi-Mumbai Expressway route

The Delhi-Mumbai Expressway project will pass through five States, including Maharashtra, and will connect distant and erstwhile areas of the States. The Ministry has shared that the Delhi-Mumbai Expressway will start from DND flyway in Delhi and go up till Jaipur to Sawai Madhopur (Rajasthan) to Ratlam (Madhya Pradesh) and Vadodara (Gujarat). The new alignment of the 12-lane expressway will reduce the travel distance by 120 km. Of the total distance of the expressway, about 380 km of road will be developed in Rajasthan, 120 km in Gujarat, 300 km in Madhya Pradesh, and 370 km in Maharashtra. In Haryana, the proposed expressway will commence at NH-919 from Bhirawati village in Sohna and exit Haryana at Kolgaon, Ferozpur Jhirka. (informations

Delhi-Mumbai Expressway: Phases

Phase 1: DND–Faridabad–KMP

Starts at DND Flyway and Ring Road at Maharani Bagh, passes through Khizrabad, Batla House and Okhla Vihar on Yamuna river’s west bank, along the Agra Canal from Okhla Vihar metro station to Mithapur. Crosses Faridabad bypass road from Sector-37, Faridabad to Kail Gaon, Ballabhgarh, Palwal–Sohna (NH-919) at Hajipur village (Gurgaon district), Trumpet interchange with KMP Expressway at Khalilpur village (Nuh district).With the Sohna-Dausa stretch near completion, the first phase would soon be open to the public. The inauguration of the stretch is planned on February 12, 2023

Phase 2: Sohna-KMP-Vadodara

Starts at Sohna-Gurgaon Road near Alipur village and passes through Nuh-Hodal-Palwal interchange. Crosses Dausa district, Sawai Madhopur district, Indragrah, Kota and Rawatbhata in Rajasthan. In MP, this section will pass through Neemuch, Garoth, Jaora, Raoti, Thandla and will enter Gujarat at Dahod district and will cross through Godhra and will end at Vadodra. With the Gurgaon-Dausa stretch near completion, the expressway is set to become fully operational. 

Phase 3: Vadodara-Virar

It will reach Surat via Kim, Bharuch and exit Gujarat after passing through Navsari, Valsad. In Maharashtra, it will enter through Palghar district via Virar. The Delhi-Mumbai-Vadodara expressway will have two toll plazas- one near the Maharashtra capital and another at Mewat region’s Alipur Village. The government has also mandated fastags for efficient toll collection. 

Phase 4: Virar-JNPT

In this phase, it will cross Amane and Badlapur in Thane district and reach JNPT in Raigad district.

Delhi-Mumbai Expressway route map in Haryana

NH-919, Flyover interchange at Bhirawati village in Sohna

Western Peripheral Expressway cloverleaf interchange near Khalilpur village

MDR132, Flyover interchange between Nuh-Ujina on Nuh-Hodal link

MDR135, Interchange between Bhadas-Hathin in Bhadas

MDR131, Flyover interchange to the west of Pinangwan on the Moolthan-Hodal section

NH22, Flyover interchange east of Ferozepur Jhirka

Kolgaon, South of Ferozpur Jhirka

Delhi-Mumbai Expressway route in Rajasthan

Alwar, Interchanges at NH45, NH14, and NH44

Rajgarh interchange at NH25A

NH148, Interchange on Manoharpur-Dausa highway

Jaipur, Intersections at NH21 and NH23

NH552, Sawai Madhopur interchange

NH29, Indragarh interchange

Kota, Interchanges at NH34, NH52, and NH27

NH9A, Rawatbhata interchange

NH31A, Neemuch interchange

Delhi-Mumbai Expressway route in Madhya Pradesh

  • Mandsaur, interchanges at NH31 and NH14
  • Jaora
  • Ratlam and Banswara
  • Thandla

Delhi-Mumbai Expressway route in Gujarat

  • Dahod
  • Godhra
  • Vadodara
  • Surat

Please note: Mumbai-Vadodara Expressway will be subsumed in Delhi-Mumbai Expressway.

Delhi-Mumbai Expressway route in Maharashtra

  • Valsad
  • Vapi-Silvassa
  • Virar
  • Mumbai

Delhi-Mumbai Expressway: Current status, progress

Union Road and Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari said that the first phase of Delhi-Mumbai Expressway will be completed soon. As per the latest media reports, tender for Faridabad bypass to Jewar Airport (Spur package) has been awarded by the NHAI to Apco Infratech Pvt. Ltd. in July. Earlier, GR Infraprojects had emerged as the successful bidder to construct the Dausa-Jaipur section. Apart from this, around 710 km route is under-construction as work has been awarded by NHAI for 41 out of 52 construction packages.

Additionally, NHAI has requested the installation of various ATMS equipment to implement Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS). The upgrade will make the expressway sustainable and travel-efficient and pave the way for stress-free travel.

As the first phase is expected to shorten the Delhi-Jaipur distance to a 2-hour journey, the distance between Aurangabad and Pune will also witness the same cut once the expressway is fully operational. The planned connection of the Vadodara-Virar section to Samruddhi Mahamarg would further ease travel and reduce traffic congestion. (informations

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top